1. Marshall is one of the only two justices to have appeared on the U.S currency. His image was on the $500 bill of those days. However, this bill is no more in circulation as it was suspended a few years later as newer currencies came into play.


  1. The Supreme court of the U.S did not have a fully functioning courthouse until the late 1930s. The chamber that existed lacked space thereby making it difficult for the justices even to have lunch at the court. For this reason, they would go into robing rooms to have lunch.  It was chief justice William Howard Taft who both took up and led the drive demanding the construction of a separate and more spacious Supreme Court building.


  1. Taft was the only president who sat at the court. He passed away before the new Supreme Court building opened and is still popular because he is the only president turned justice in the history of the U.S.A. However, Charles Evans Hughes was just a few numbers away from defeating Woodrow Wilson in the year1916 to capture his place in the White House. Hughes had earlier resigned from the court to contest against Wilson, but he rejoined the court in the  1930s as the chief justice, thereby replacing Taft.


  1. In those days the justices were used to traveling around the country to take up cases. There was a point when many of the justices began having issues with regard to the hassle of frequent travel. This meant that the justices from the Supreme Court were mandated to preside over the circuit courts located in all parts of the country every once a year. However, this requirement was put out of existence in the year 1891.


  1. The number of justices is equal to the number of courts.  Till date, there have been around 17 chief justices and therefore, 17 courts. The historians of the court categorize court eras by the name of the chief justice presiding over the court and its sessions.


  1. The second chief justice of the U.S lasted only for a few months. Justice John Rutledge was appointment as a recess to the court in the year 1795, to replace John Jay. However, Rutledge happened to criticize the Congress in one of his many public speeches, following which, the Senate collectively rejected his permanent nomination on to the bench.


  1. There was a time back in the day, in the year, January 7, 1972, when Lewis F. Powell Jr. and William H. Rehnquist were sworn in together during a special sitting of the court. It was held that when two justices join the court on the same day, their seniority is determined by age.


  1. Seven of the future Supreme Court justices had clerked at the Supreme Court. They were Byron R. White, John Paul Stevens, William H. Rehnquist, Stephen G. Breyer, Elena Kagan, John G. Roberts, and Neil Gorsuch.